Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Do you "Fun Run"?

Last year I went crazy for races and registered for every race that I could find.  This included two un-timed "fun runs".  I ran "The Zombie Run" in Philly and "The Color Run" in Baltimore.  While I enjoyed the people I ran these races with they were not two of my favorites of the year.  Here's why:

The Baltimore Color Run "Before"

1. These races are pretty non-threatening in terms of fitness level and have really fun themes so they attract everyone from seasoned runners to beginning runners to people who just want to have fun.  While I applaud these races for getting people out and exercising, when I sign up for a 5k I intend to run it.  For both fun runs I spent a decent amount of time dodging people and at The Zombie Run I had to halt to a complete stop and walk because there was absolutely no room to go around people.  This overcrowding of the course takes away from the fun of the theme for me.

2. I found both of these races to be pretty darn disorganized.  In all fairness both of my fun runs were held for the first time in that city in 2013 so a little disorganization was to be expected.  At The Zombie Run traffic and parking was such a mess my group missed the official start time by 30 minutes.  Waves were let go about every 30 seconds which was fine for our group because we got to the start time so late.  However, 30 second waves would not be enough time to reduce overcrowding on the course with the number of runners that were at the starting line.  

The starting line at The Color Run was madness.  We lined up about 20 minutes ahead of time and then waited over an hour after the first group left to get our turn to start.  By the time I reached the starting line, I was over it.  During our long wait people were getting antsy, some people pushed through the barriers to cut in line.  Next thing we knew apparently people were tired of waiting and began pushing through the giant line and jumping onto the portion of the course that ran parallel to the start line missing the first kilometer of the race.  I can get anxiety in large crowds and I was starting to feel panicked as this went on.  While in line, we also got pelted by a few of the "color packets" that are part of your race packet to use at the finish line party.  Mind you, these packets were pretty full so it kinda hurt, not. fun.  

I understand that there are a lot of participants in these events but the companies that run these types of runs need to get their act together in terms of organization.


The Baltimore Color Run "After"

3. These races are typically more expensive than a local 5k which I don't understand.  For $40-50 you pretty much get your race entry and a t-shirt.  No timing chip, no medal.  So why do these races cost so much???  I just don't get it.  Yes, these races are designed for profit, I get that.  However, most 5ks raise money for charities and are cheaper.  So, in theory, you could charge less money and still make a profit.

This week registration opened for the Baltimore "Electric Run" which is a night time fun run with all sorts of light features on course and is described to have a party atmosphere.  The group I ran The Color Run with decided they to participate in The Electric Run and all week I've been contemplating whether or not to join them.  On one hand I love this group of girls and every get together is a blast!  But, on the other hand, I have not really enjoyed my experience with fun runs.  So, I've been going back and forth on it. In the end, I decided to wait on registration until I have a better idea of what my summer will look like.  Right now, I can't justify paying over $50 for a race that I'm not sure that I'll enjoy.

Do you enjoy these themed fun runs?  Have you had a really great experience at a fun run?

<3 T

No comments:

Post a Comment